

PO Box 4438, Christchurch 8140, NEW ZEALAND

Elections to be held at Synod, September 2022

The various Board and committee positions listed below will be vacant at the time of Synod and nominations for suitable candidates are sought. As advised nominations will close at 9.00am on

Saturday, 2nd September (per Diocesan Synod Statute, 5.4.1). We encourage nominations to be submitted prior to that time.

When nominating, please make sure that:

- The **permission** of the person has been obtained before you nominate them.
- **Clergy** who are nominated **should not be planning study leave** during their (anticipated) term of office.
- The nominee is committed to, and is able to, attend meetings. This is particularly important for meetings of General Synod, the Standing Committee of the Diocese, Church Property Trustees, Anglican Care Trust Board, and the Board of Nomination. The usual meeting dates/times are listed below.
- Nominees are members of Synod (for Standing Committee nominations) or a member of the Church (for Church Property Trustee nominations).
- A brief **profile** of the person is included on the nomination form and a **photo** if possible. This helps Synod members to identify the candidates who they may not know.
- When nominating, please consider the desirable skills and attributes listed below and a balance of age, rural/urban, and gender.
- A blue nomination form is available for nominations at per-Synod meetings and at Synod. An electronic version is available to be downloaded from <u>anglicanlife.org.nz/Diocesan-Life/Synod</u>, or by email from the Diocesan Administration Assistant at dioadmin@anglicanlife.org.nz.
- Nominations should be submitted to the Diocesan Manager either by post to PO Box 4438, Christchurch 8140, or by electronic scan, emailed to diomanager@anglicanlife.org.nz .
- Please forward nominations as early as possible and preferably by Friday, 26th August to allow time to set up and prepare voting papers in advance. Nominations will not be posted on the website but those received in good time will be circulated electronically to members prior to Synod.

Standing Committee of the Diocese

Standing Committee meets at the Anglican Centre, 95 Tuam Street on the 1st Wednesday of the month at 5.00pm.

1 clergy members and 3 lay members are required for a three-year term (renewable once). NB: Nominees for Standing Committee must be Synod members. The Diocesan Standing Committee is the Synod between Synods and is concerned with governance for the whole Diocese.

Current Members of **Standing Committee**, and the year their term ends are:

Clergy: The Very Rev'd Lawrence Kimberley, (Dean of the Cathedral 2nd Term 2024) Rev'd Michael Brantley (Vicar Avonhead Parish 1st Term 2024), Rev'd Kofe Havea (Vicar Cashmere Parish 1st Term 2024), Rev'd Tony Kippax (Vicar Geraldine Parish 2022)**

Laity:, Mr Byron Beam (Avonhead Parish 2nd Term 2024)**, Mrs Kirsty May (Avonhead Parish 1st Term 2022)*, Mr David Prosser (Rangiora Parish 1st Term 2022)*, Mrs Corinne Haines (Fendalton Parish 1st Term 2024)

* Retiring and eligible for re-election ** Retiring and not standing again.

Skills and attributes needed on Standing Committee include:

- ability to think strategically
- accountancy
- young leaders

• Christ-Centred Mission mindedness and commitment to the Anglican Church. Some experience of the breadth and diversity of the Diocese would be useful.

Church Property Trustees – 2 trustees are required; (two retiring and eligible for re-election) The Trust Board meets on the first Thursday of the month at 4.30pm

Four trustees are elected by the Trust Board to the Audit Risk, and Finance sub-committee, which meets as required.

In accordance with the CPT Act, the 8 trustees are "elected by Synod and at each annual session of Synod the two longest serving trustees must retire and the Synod must elect 2 members of the Church to be Trustees. A retiring trustee is eligible to be re-elected as a trustee".

Current trustees with the year of their election are:

Mrs Susan Sullivan (2021)	Mr Steve Wakefield (2021)	Mr Robert Bijl (2019)*
Ms Sammy Mould (2019)	Mr Peter Flannery (2019)*	Mr Simon Courtney (2020)
Mr Chris Wilson (2020)	Dr Corin Murfitt (2020)	

* Retiring and eligible for re-election. **Retiring and not standing again

Skills and attributes particularly needed for the Church Property Trust Board include professional skills in any of:

- Governance
- Finance or Accounting
- Investment or Insurance
- Buildings and property
- Engineering
- Project management

Anglican Care Trust Board - 1 Trust Board member required The Anglican Care Trust Board meets on the first Tuesday of the month at 5.30pm 1 member of 2 elected by Synod is required for a 3-year term.

Current Trust Board members are: Bishop of Christchurch (Warden) Ms Moka Ritchie (Chair) The Rev'd Ben Randall Mr Neil Shewan Mr Chas Muir Mrs Nalini Meyer Miss Jane Evans Rev'd Peter Beck

Members Elected by Synod with their year of election are - Miss Jane Evans (2021) The Rev'd Peter Beck (2019)**

** Retiring and not standing again.

Skills and attributes needed for the Anglican Care Trust Board are:

- Social Services experience, especially governance
- Strategic thinking
- Finance, accounting and investment
- Young leaders

The Craighead Diocesan School Proprietors - 1 member required

The Craighead Diocesan School Proprietors meets on the first Tuesday of the month at 5.30pm 3 members elected by Synod for a term of three years

Current Proprietors (years shown are the years they retire) are:

Elected by Synod – Dr. William Rolleston (2024), Rev'd Joshua Taylor (2022)**, Mrs Tracy McLeod (2023) Appointed by the Archdeaconry – Rev'd Ben Randall (2024), Mrs Amelia Dale (2023) *Retiring and eligible for re-election. ** Retiring and not standing again.

Skills and attributes needed for the Craighead Diocesan School Proprietors are:

- Christian faith,
- Anglican Church commitment,
- Governance ability ,
 An interest in young
- An interest in young people and what helps them thrive in a residential educational setting.